About the Kankakee River Basin Commission


The Kankakee River Basin Commission was created by the Indiana General Assembly in 1977. The Commission represents 8 County Soil and Water Conservation Districts in Northwest Indiana; Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Newton, Porter, Stark and St. Joseph. The Commission is composed of 24 members: a representative from each of the eight Boards of County Commissioners, the eight county surveyors or their designated employee, and a supervisor of the eight Soil and Water Conservation Districts.

The KRBC was established to coordinate development in the Basin and has, since established, sought to plan and coordinate the many environmental demands placed upon the Kankakee River, its tributaries, and all the land around it. This includes flood control and drainage, as well as recreation, water quality and supply, hunting and fishing, wetlands preservation and upland soil erosion.

The Kankakee Basin in Indiana comprises 1.9 million acres of which almost 1.6 million has been used as cropland.

Mission Statement

The Kankakee River Basin Commission coordinates the water resources and water-related land resources of the Kankakee River basin in Indiana by promoting and protecting the varied aspects of the drain infrastructure with projects for flood control, drainage maintenance and environmental enhancements for natural resource conservation and recreational development.


Vision Statement

The Kankakee River Basin Commission will provide an organizational environment to promote and sustain the development of surface and ground water for agriculture, residential, recreational and commercial purposes; to address water quality and in stream issues; to restore and protect fisheries; wetlands and aquatic habitat; and to ensure future availability of water supplies in the basin.